the canadian composers orchestra's


About Digital Generations


CCO Digital Generations is a bi-annual program providing early-career Canadian composers the opportunity to have their work digitally performed, produced and promoted by the Canadian Composers Orchestra. This program is funded in part by SOCAN.



The Canadian Composers Orchestra is currently accepting scores for Flute and Piano from early career composers of any race or gender. Only Canadian citizens may apply. The work may be new, existing, or previously performed. Pieces should be at least five minutes in length. Multi-movement works are acceptable.


The selected work will be:


  1. Performed and recorded by Wesley Shen and Sara Constant.

  2. Filmed and professionally produced by audio, video and live streaming specialists Domenic Clark and Nikolay Nikitushkin for free online viewing.

  3. Displayed on the CCO's YouTube page as a score video intended for classroom teaching.  

  4. Younger composers may receive a re-engraving of their piece by Andrew James Clark prior to the creation of the score video. 

  5. Promoted in the CCO's educational video series analyzing and advocating for further performances of the composers music.

  6. The chosen composer will have access to career planning and or mentorship sessions with Composer Tyler Versluis throughout the Spring.


There is a $10 application fee.


Deadline: December 24th 2021



One composer will be selected by a jury of both composers and performers of the specified instruments. The selected composer will be expected to remain in communication with the CCO board members, performers and audio visual team throughout the winter. The selected composer must also attend at least one rehearsal (in person or virtually) to provide interpretive directions to the performers. 


The chosen composer will be notified mid-January 2022.


It is our goal to announce a call for scores every six months, if funding permits. 



Email submissions to and include:


Your Name.

A PDF of your Bio.

A PDF copy of your score.

A streaming link to a recording or midi if available.

The Transaction ID from your $10 PayPal application fee.

Click "Buy Now" to pay the Application Fee:



(You may be asked to provide a shipping address before we can process your application fee. Please do so.)

If you have any questions please contact us at